Running? Easy as 1, 2, 3!

So I ran another 4 miles today during cheer, and it was surprisingly not that bad! I’ve noticed that my endurance has definitely increased, & I no longer feel that pain in my chest when I’m running. I only feel the burn in my legs and abs, but that’s tolerable. So I thought I’d give some tips when you plan on going running! Please keep in mind that I’m no professional but these are just some things that get me through running and have helped me build up my endurance! So here we go!

1. Listen to music
It’s hard for me to run without music. I usually choose an upbeat song with a good beat because it keeps me pumped while running. I also will silently sing along with the song, and when I say sing along I mean more of mouthing the words silently haha. It helps kill time and it distracts you from the physical burn you’re feeling.

2. Run at a good pace
Find a pace that feels comfortable for you. Don’t worry about looking like a slow poke while you run, because it’s more impressive to show your endurance than to show how fast you can go. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve seen people literally run at a pace too fast for them, just to look impressive, and stop after about 10 seconds. The sheepish look on their faces when I pass them up is priceless. Trust me, you will feel better knowing you were able to run a long distance without stopping while going your own pace, than pushing yourself too hard and feeling like you’ve failed. So, find your own pace, and trust me it’ll build up from there.

3. Try to control your breathing
I know, what the heck do you mean Joy?!!? When I’m running I try to keep my breathing as steady as I can. So I will take deep breaths as I run. In through your nose, out through your mouth. But if you’re weird like me and exhaling through your mouth seems to make you feel more tired feel free to only breathe through your nose. Like I said, I’m weird.

4. Find good running shoes!
It’s very important to find shoes that have good support under your feet. If it doesn’t have good support it will make your run that much harder. I wear Nikes, but I recommend Asics!

5. Find a running buddy
Preferably someone who runs at a similar pace as you. I have a running buddy during cheerleading practice and we make a good team because we keep each other running. I’m trying to keep up with her, and she’s trying to keep up with me. It’s very motivating, and I always find it easier to run with someone rather than by myself.

6. It’s fine to take brief breaks in between
Please note how I said brief. It’s fine to walk a little bit if you need to, but the longer you walk the harder it is to get yourself going again. I never let myself walk for too long because I find it harder to get back into that running mode again. But of course, brief breaks in between is not bad at all!

7. Keep positive, motivating thoughts
I know that it’s definitely not easy to keep yourself motivated while running. I remember when I first started running, I would always tell myself “okay you know you can’t make it that far, let’s just stop here” but DON’T DO THAT!! Keep telling yourself to push through, and remind yourself how rewarding its going to feel when you complete your run without giving up. No matter how hard, keep positive thoughts. Give yourself more credit, you already ran this far, why not finish it?

Okay, that’s all I can think of for now. Hopefully this was somewhat helpful! Again, I am no expert haha. I just run very often and these are my own personal tips that have helped me improve my running endurance and get through running. I just love to run, because the feeling after a good run is the most rewarding feeling you can get. & it’s such a great stress reliever! So, if you don’t agree with these tips that is fine. Everyone is different! I just wanted to share this with whoever is interested and wanted to try. Hope this is helpful to y’all! :)

With Love,
Joy

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Running? Easy as 1, 2, 3!

  1. I wish I knew a place to run in LA…I can’t find a good place :(

  2. OOO like beach side running…not a bad idea…except i have to drive there…dummy!~ and parking ain’t cheap….plus I can’t run till the third week of May anyways
    -Sharon

  3. My brother recommended I might like this site.
    He utilised to be totally appropriate. This publish truly made
    my working day. You are able to not think just how a lot time I’d invested for this details! Thanks!

  4. available. (i’m feminine) we achieved and dated briefly. factors did not perform out simply because he was very insecure following a although. i have a brand new boyfriend now. however, even following this time (around six months) after i open up l. a. craig checklist web page to sell furnishings, the “men searching for women” link on the front web page nevertheless is purple in color. the unclicked hyperlinks like “jobs” are nonetheless blue. how am i able to make the fact that i clicked “men looking for women” disappear? i’d dislike for my boyfriend
    to view it, plus my ex does not want me to tell men and women
    we satisfied on craig listing.

  5. How about possessing a canine? Are not there research that display dog proprietors are
    more healthy and happier? Would getting 1-2 canines detract you from sexual thoughts and at the same time improve
    your chance of encountering the other intercourse?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

